Chemistry

This year we are studying chemistry and physics with Pilot, Sketch and Bones.Note obviously, Bones is more along for the ride, Sketch is going for a very basic understanding of the material, and Pilot is going a bit more in depth with his material.

image

People, let me tell you, I HATED Physics in high school…HIGH SCHOOL (my elementary students and middle
schooler are taking a course I didn’t take until High School, man I LOVE home schooling)…when I took it, so the thought of teaching my kids physics was a bit daunting. Physics is my husband’s forte. When we started dating he was taking both advanced chemistry and physics and I was impressed I could pronounce physics (ok it wasn’t THAT bad…though I ended up having to take physics twice to get a passing grade!) So, teaching my kids physics scares the snot out of me. I will let you know how it goes as we are still working on the chemistry portion of our course.

Now, chemistry I LOVE and my husband is not crazy about it (we really are polar opposites). He would much rather do advanced physics or some crazy long equation that takes ten lines to simply write out rather than do basic chemistry. I want sure when e started how the trio would enjoy this course but I’m so impressed with them. All three love it and chemistry/physics is very quickly becoming our favorite subject each day. In fact, the boys were so sad yesterday when there was nothing assigned!

What are your kids and your favorite subjects to learn about/teach? (We are definitely science/history junkies here!)

Leave a comment